Oda al color

(ode to color)

by

Virginia Rivas

Curator: Jorge Cañete

February 2020

When we read Shakespeare or when we contemplate a colour in the sky, it is always with the hope of finding our true face there. When we fall in love it is the same, except that there we are closer to finally discovering the purity of our features, there, on the other's face.

Christian Bobin

ODE TO COLOR
The series "Oda al color" is part of her project VARIATIONS in which the artist reflects on the colours of our environment and the perception we have of them according to our personal gaze. She creates a dialogue between the realities that make up our lives through colour, while at the same time delving into the medium itself and its multiple visual and plastic possibilities. His work is characterized by a lyrical and atmospheric painting, where the vigorousness of the line merges with the subtlety of the stain.

 

​BIO
Virginia Rivas has a degree in Fine Arts from the University of Salamanca, studied at the Accademia di Belle Arti in Venice and obtained a DEA in Art History from the University of Extremadura. She has won several awards and has obtained national and international grants to develop her projects. She has had numerous exhibitions in Spain, France, Italy, Portugal, the United States and Switzerland.


Virginia Rivas works with different media: installation, video and light boxes but the material that manages to define her is painting. She investigates form and matter through abstraction and gesture in search of a palette of her own in which textures, naive strokes and brief texts that move between chance and intention burst in. He delves into human behaviour through his own experiences as a guideline for investigating the individual-environmental nexus and for creating a sociological, plural and contemporary discourse in which he explores the relationship between the work, the spectator and the space.

She lives and works in Extremadura.

Artworks:
Limited edition 50 copies.
Numbered and signed by the artist
Printing Fine Art Glicée, Museum Quality, Paper 100 % Hahnemühle William Turner Cotton 310 gr.
Format: 21 x 29,7 cm

An artwork is available at the INTERIOR DESIGN PHILOSOPHY studio if you wish to see it.

For more information on availability and prices (artworks are sold unframed, framed on request):


Photo gallery of the available artworks (10 artworks):

Oda al color

(ode à la couleur)

de

Virginia Rivas

Commissaire d'exposition: Jorge Cañete

Février 2020

Quand on lit Shakespeare ou quand on contemple une couleur dans le ciel, c'est toujours avec l'espérance d'y trouver notre vrai visage. Quand on tombe amoureux c'est pareil, sauf que là on est au plus près de découvrir enfin la pureté de nos traits, là, sur le visage de l'autre.


Christian Bobin (L'épuisement, p.92, Éd. Le temps qu'il fait, 1994)

ODA AL COLOR (ODE À LA COULEUR)
La série Oda al color fait partie de son projet VARIATIONS dans lequel l'artiste réfléchit sur les couleurs de notre environnement et la perception que nous en avons selon notre regard personnel. Elle crée un dialogue entre les réalités qui composent notre vie par le biais de la couleur, tout en approfondissant le médium lui-même et ses multiples possibilités visuelles et plastiques. Son travail se caractérise par une peinture lyrique et atmosphérique, où la vigueur du trait se confond avec la subtilité de la tache.

 

 BIOGRAPHIE
Virginia Rivas est diplômée en Beaux-Arts de l'Université de Salamanque, a étudié à l'Accademia di Belle Arti à Venise et a obtenu un DEA en Histoire de l'Art à l'Université d'Extremadura. Elle a reçu plusieurs prix et a obtenu des bourses nationales et internationales pour développer ses projets. Elle a réalisé de nombreuses expositions en Espagne, en France, en Italie, au Portugal, aux États-Unis et en Suisse.


Virginia Rivas travaille avec différents médias : installation, vidéo et boîtes à lumière, mais celui qui parvient le mieux à la définir est la peinture. Elle explore la forme et la matière à travers l'abstraction et le geste, à la recherche d'une palette personnelle dans laquelle éclatent des textures, des traits naïfs et des textes brefs qui oscillent entre le hasard et l'intention. Elle sonde le comportement humain à travers ses propres expériences, comme référent pour analyser le lien individu-environnement et créer un discours sociologique, pluriel et contemporain où elle explore la relation entre l'œuvre, le spectateur et l'espace.

Virginia Rivas vit et travaille en Extremadura.

SPÉCIFICATIONS DES ŒUVRES
​Édition limitée à 50 exemplaires

Numérotée et signée par l'artiste

Impression Fine Art Glicée, qualité musée, papier 100 % Hahnemühle William Turner Coton 310 gr.

Format : 21 x 29,7 cm
Un exemplaire se trouve au studio INTERIOR DESIGN PHILOSOPHY si vous souhaitez venir le voir.
 
Pour plus d'information sur disponibilité et prix (œuvres vendues non encadrées, encadrement sur demande) : info@jorgecanete.com
​GALERIE PHOTOS DES OEUVRES DISPONIBLES (10 OEUVRES)