October - November 2020

Ordo

ou l'ordre bousculé

by

ANA H. DEL AMO

Curator: Jorge Cañete

From October 19 to December 4, 2020

open by appointment only from Monday to Friday from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

In the cloister of the old Chartreuse de La Lance

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

She also knows that color, line and mass do not exist as independent and autonomous elements, and this is why she captures all the geometric and topological properties of the surfaces that she works on in her sculptures and paintings, with the sole aim of demonstrating that the world is much more complex and dynamic than the one proposed by symmetry.

Javier Cano

 

It may seem paradoxical to exhibit the works of Ana H. del Amo in a Carthusian monastery, one of the strictest and oh so disciplined religious orders, where silence is an irremovable rule, leaving little room for spontaneity.

 

Of course, this artist living in Caceres in Extremadura offers a certain idea of ​​rigor, but hers is dictated by asymmetry, by a playful approximation. Indeed, Ana's approach is assimilated to the game, in its primary and original aspect, because it tries thanks to the colors, the lines and the volumes (gestures of freedom and passion) to consider the scenographic device as a poetic area of game.

 

Her interest in geometric shapes has been present since the start of his career. It is not, however, an analytical geometry but intuitive, where the line comes to life through color, because if there is indeed an element always present in Ana's works, it is color.

 

The artist, in this first exhibition in Switzerland, offers a series of works that come in two-dimensional (reproductions of geometric designs suspended between the Gothic arches) and three-dimensional (sculpture-objects placed at the four cardinal points of the cloister) interpretations.

 

Her pieces on the floor and on the wall are designed halfway between sculpture and assembly. The use of wood and everyday objects that she recycles allows her to demonstrate that intuition can multiply the fields of possibilities. The artist also advocates an approach in which ideas must circulate freely in order to explore all the variations of the compositions.

 

Ana's creative freedom defines a new order that echoes, while shaking it, the spiritual order of the Carthusians and the architectural order of the cloister of La Lance. Her works are intended to create fractures in the viewer, but also to delimit a space for contemplation.

 

But make no mistake: through their observation, the works of Ana H. del Amo delimit a new spatial rule where imperfection is the keystone. Ana offers simple, sober and falsely symmetrical works that explore different possibilities of creation.

 

And it is precisely the very irregularity of these shapes that makes them close and endearing to us.

BIOGRAPHY :

Ana H. del Amo has exhibited, individually and collectively, in spaces such as the Can Felipa Cultural Center, Barcelona; Velázquez House, Madrid; MAC Unión Fenosa, A Coruña; Center del Carme, Valencia; Luis Adelantado Gallery, Valencia; Sala Josep Renau, University of Valencia; Rosa Santos Gallery, Valencia; Cáceres Museum; Parliament of Extremadura, Mérida; Pérez Comendador-Leroux Museum, Hervás, Cáceres; Rafael Pérez Hernando Gallery, Madrid; Set Espai d’Art, Valencia or Fran Reus Gallery, Palma de Mallorca among others and in Cáceres Open 2019.

 

Scholar of the Spanish Academy in Rome in 2005, in 2006, 2008 and 2018 she was awarded the Visual Artists Grant Francisco de Zurbarán by the Junta de Extremadura. She has been awarded the DKV Acquisition Award, the Nocapaper Collection award and the Casa de Velázquez Award in Estampa in 2016. And in 2019 she was awarded a scholarship by the Pollock-Krasner Foundation of New York, with an annual grant.

Visuel_Ordo.jpg
Sans titre, peinture sur bois
Dessins imprimés sur tissu
Sans titre. Peinture sur bois
Cloître de La Lance
Détail
Dessins imprimés sur tissu
Sans titre. Peinture sur bois
Sans titre. Technique mixte
Dessins au vent...
1/1

Octobre - Novembre 2020

Ordo

ou l'ordre bousculé

par

ANA H. DEL AMO

Commissaire d'exposition: Jorge Cañete

Du 19 octobre au 4 décembre 2020

ouvert sur rendez-vous uniquement du lundi au vendredi de 9h00 à 19h00

Dans le cloître de l'ancienne Chartreuse de La Lance

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Elle sait également que la couleur, la ligne et la masse n'existent pas en tant qu'éléments indépendants et autonomes, et c'est pourquoi elle saisit toutes les propriétés géométriques et topologiques des surfaces qu'elle travaille dans ses sculptures et ses peintures, dans le seul but de démontrer que le monde est beaucoup plus complexe et dynamique que celui proposé par la symétrie.

Javier Cano

 

Il peut paraître paradoxal d’exposer les œuvres d’Ana H. del Amo dans un cloître de Chartreux, ordre religieux parmi les plus stricts et ô combien discipliné, où le silence est une règle inamovible, laissant peu de place à la spontanéité.

 

Certes, cette artiste vivant à Caceres en Extremadura propose une certaine idée de la rigueur, mais la sienne est dictée par l’asymétrie, par une approximation ludique. En effet, la démarche d’Ana s’assimile au jeu, dans son aspect primaire et originel, car elle tente grâce aux couleurs, aux traits et aux volumes (gestes de liberté et de passion) de considérer le dispositif scénographique comme une aire poétique de jeu.

 

Son intérêt pour les formes géométriques est présent depuis le début de sa carrière. Il ne s’agit pourtant pas d’une géométrie analytique mais intuitive, où le trait prend vie par la couleur, car s’il y a bien un élément toujours présent dans les œuvres d’Ana, c’est bien la couleur.

 

L’artiste, dans cette première exposition en Suisse, propose une série d’œuvres qui se déclinent en interprétations bidimensionnelles (reproductions de dessins géométriques suspendus entre les arches gothiques) et tridimensionnelles (objets-sculptures posés aux quatre points cardinaux du cloître).

 

Ses pièces au sol et au mur sont conçues à mi-chemin entre la sculpture et l’assemblage. L’utilisation de bois et d’objets du quotidien qu’elle recycle lui permet de démontrer que l’intuition peut démultiplier les champs des possibles. L’artiste prône d’ailleurs une démarche au sein de laquelle les idées doivent circuler librement afin d’explorer toutes les variations des compositions.

 

La liberté créative d’Ana définit un nouvel ordre qui fait écho, tout en le bousculant, à l’ordre spirituel des Chartreux et à l’ordre architectural du cloître de La Lance. Ses œuvres ont pour raison d’être de créer des fractures chez le spectateur, mais également de délimiter un espace propice à la contemplation.

 

Mais ne vous y trompez pas : à travers leur observation, les œuvres d’Ana H. del Amo délimitent une nouvelle règle spatiale dont l’imperfection est la clef de voûte. Ana propose des œuvres simples, sobres et faussement symétriques qui explorent différentes possibilités de créations.

 

Et c’est justement l’irrégularité même de ces formes qui nous les rendent proches et attachantes.

BIOGRAPHIE :

Ana H. del Amo a exposé, individuellement et collectivement, dans des espaces tels que le Centre culturel Can Felipa, Barcelone ; la Maison Velázquez, Madrid ; le MAC Unión Fenosa, La Corogne ; le Centre del Carme, Valence ; la Galerie Luis Adelantado, Valence ; la Sala Josep Renau, Université de Valence ; Galerie Rosa Santos, Valence ; Musée de Cáceres ; Parlement d'Estrémadure, Mérida ; Musée Pérez Comendador-Leroux, Hervás, Cáceres ; Galerie Rafael Pérez Hernando, Madrid ; Set Espai d'Art, Valence ou Galerie Fran Reus, Palma de Majorque entre autres et à Cáceres Open 2019.

 

Elle a reçu la bourse de l'Académie espagnole de Rome en 2005, elle a reçu en 2006, 2008 et 2018 la bourse pour artistes visuels Francisco de Zurbarán, décernée par la Junta de Extremadura. Elle a reçu le prix d'acquisition DKV, le prix de la collection Nocapaper et le prix Casa de Velázquez à Estampa en 2016. Et en 2019, elle a reçu la prestigieuse bourse de la Fondation Pollock-Krasner de New York.

1/1