December 2021- February 2022

"Reflections"

a selection of films and photographs

by

CESARE BEDOGNE

From December 12 to February 12, 2022

 

Exhibition curator: Jorge Cañete

Rue Haute, 36

CH - 1422 Grandson (Vaud)

open by appointment only: +41787102534 - info@jorgecanete.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

He discovered that the real purpose of art was not to create beautiful objects. It was a method of reflection, a means of apprehending the universe and finding its place in it, and the possible aesthetic qualities that an individual canvas could offer were only the almost accidental by-product of the effort made. to engage in this quest, to get to the heart of things.

Paul Auster (Moon Palace, trans. Christine Le Bœuf, p. 564, Thesaurus Actes Sud)

 

"Reflections"

a selection of films & photographs

 

It was in 2009 that I organized Cesare Bedogné's first exhibition in Switzerland, in the Jullien bookstore located in the Old Town of Geneva. This exhibition of poetic and moving photographs retraced empty interiors, abandoned buildings ... From images frozen in their silence, Cesare's work has since evolved and the artist felt the need to express his sensitivity on edge. through moving images ...

 

The exhibition offers 2 short films: "Maria's Silence" and "The last step of an acrobat", as well as a selection of 10 images taken from these two experimental films (stills). Basically, his vision of the world and the power of these new achievements have not changed: there is this permanent surf of memory, this coming and going of the waves (to the soul), when they break against the obstacles. of life, like so many mirrors fragmenting the reflections of memory. Reflections literally and figuratively.

Jorge Cañete

Films presented:

 

"Maria's Silence", 38 minutes (go to the trailer by cliking the image)

This film is based on documentary material but is not, strictly speaking, a documentary film. It is not a work of fiction either. Rather, the film appeared to us as a dream, not a night dream, but a dream that unfolded day after day during the shooting. A dream shared between the photographer-director and the actress (or, better, the woman depicted in the feature film), which nevertheless seemed to follow a specific, enigmatic necessity, through which the daily shots came together almost magnetically, s 'interweaving in a pattern of superimposed layers that keep melting and dissolving into each other, in the constant flow, crystallization and reshaping of the psychic interior.

At some point this dream seems to come to an end, but in fact it only opens up to another dream, or hallucination, where the movie itself suddenly begins to burn, releasing new and old visions - fragments of reality - until it is extinguished by a sudden storm and dissolves in a dusk of seawater. In this sense, the film is also a meditation on the elements, water and fire, wind , earth and skin, inspired by a solar eye that appeared almost on its own in one of the foregrounds and took possession of the narrative, in the endless flow and unfathomable metamorphosis of all things and all beings.

Cesare Bedogné

"The last step of an acrobat", 29 minutes (go to the trailer by cliking the image)

This film appeared to us, as it unfolded almost by itself, day after day while shooting, as a mythical fairy-tale about dead sea creatures and the desire to fly - Death and Flight, that cannot exist without one another. 


Like a dream, it is based on a series of interconnected visions, longings and forebodings that could not possibly be reduced to a unity of meaning. As life itself, or as the sea which is always changing and yet remains the same, unable to betray its mystery. 
 

More like a visual poem than a narrative film, it is the story of an Equilibrist suspended on the slack rope of existence, her own territory: the thin and always changeable borderland joining all opposites, Sky and Earth, Life and Death, Light and Shadow, Elsewhere and Nowhere. 


This film is also about transformation and loss of identity, about the desire to become someone else, or even something else – the screech of a seagull, bleaching bones, a broken dolphin’s mouth, dissolving into deep eternity – a meditation on Melancholy and on the frailty of existence, permeated by the secret whispering of all things shipwrecked and lost. 
The last step is always the first, in my beginning is my end.

 

Cesare Bedogné

Stills featured:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The versions on sale have an A2 format (42X59,4) whose printed part is 30X50cm,

Impression: Epson HDX inks (latest generation), high resistance pigments to the light, printed on pure white paper, 100% cotton Canson Platinum Fiber RAG, 310 gsm, museum quality, printed by Marco Barsanti (marcobarsanti.it).

 

BIOGRAPHY :

Cesare Bedogné is an Italian photographer, filmmaker and writer. He graduated with honors in mathematics with a thesis on Minkovski's space-time, the geometric theory underlying Einstein's special theory of relativity.  During his studies he also deepened his interest in the visual arts, with particular attention to film and photography, and in the early 90s he set up his first darkroom in the Netherlands, where he had joins his girlfriend Monique. At this time, he focused on his series Innerscapes, which focused on "the strange moments when the inside and the outside, the eye and the things looked at, seem to dissolve into each other".  After the loss of Monique, due to leukemia (1998), he returned to Italy and began working on his series Broken Images (a quote from TSEliot) in a deserted sanatorium in the Italian Alps.

From the late 90s, his black and white prints have been exhibited, both solo and in group exhibitions, in numerous art galleries and museums around the world, such as Ch'i Contemporary in New York, Dagmar Schmidla in Cologne, the Italian Cultural Institute in Athens and the Fotomuseum Den Haag in the Netherlands.
  In 2009, he moved to Greece, in a remote Cretan village, where writing has also become one of his privileged means of expression. To date he has published an autobiographical novel and three collections of poems and short stories.  With the images included in the photo book Of Ashes and Wind, the novel, a memory of his Dutch years until their tragic end, was the basis of his first film, Story of an Empty Theater, which he co-directed in 2015/2016 with Russian filmmaker Alexandr Balagura.

He then moved to the western end of Lesvos, where he worked on the experimental films "Maria's Silence" and "The Last Step of an Acrobat". All these works have won numerous international awards and have been screened in prestigious film festivals such as the Festival Internazionale del Cinema di Salerno,  the Montecatini International Short Film Festival, the "Europe Around Europe" Film Festival in Paris, the International Festival of the Harlem Film in New York, the Istanbul Experimental Film Festival, the Illambra Film Festival in Berlin, the Cinemistica Film Festival in Granada, the Greek Film Festival in London, the New Renaissance Film Festival in Amsterdam ( where he won in 2018 the award for best experimental film with Story for an Empty Theater), the AMIWorkFest (in Vilnius, organized by Inkubatorius, where he won the award for best feature film in 2018 with Maria's Silence and the following year the award for best film with The Last Step of an Acrobat), the Concrete Dream Film Festival in Los Angeles (a festival focused on avant-garde cinema where in 2018 it won the award for best film - Philippe Mora medal - with Maria's Silence).

 

Cesare Bedognè currently lives in Genoa, Italy, where he founded, together with Aleksandr Balagura, Mostra Internazionale del Cinema di Genova, a festival dedicated to cinema as an art form and innovative language.


www.cesarebedogne.com
www.cesarebedogne.it

VisualCesareBedogne_2021.jpg
Capture d’écran 2021-10-26 à 16.29.06.jpg
Capture d’écran 2021-10-26 à 16.29.28.jpg
Cesare Bedogné

Décembre 2021- Février 2022

Reflections

a selection of films and photographs

par

CESARE BEDOGNE

Du 12 décembre au 12 février 2022

 

Commissaire d'exposition: Jorge Cañete

Rue Haute, 36

CH - 1422 Grandson (Vaud)

ouvert sur rendez-vous uniquement : +41787102534 - info@jorgecanete.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Il découvrit que le vrai but de l'art n'était pas de créer de beaux objets. C'était une méthode de réflexion, un moyen d'appréhender l'univers et d'y trouver sa place, et les éventuelles qualités esthétiques que pouvait offrir une toile individuelle n'étaient que le sous-produit presque accidentel de l'effort accompli pour s'engager dans cette quête, pour pénétrer au cœur des choses.

Paul Auster (Moon Palace , trad. Christine Le Bœuf, p. 564, Thesaurus Actes Sud)

 

Reflections

a selection of films & photographs

C'est en 2009 que j'ai organisé la première exposition en Suisse de Cesare Bedogné, dans la librairie Jullien, située dans la Vieille-Ville de Genève. L’artiste y donnait à voir des photographies poétiques et émouvantes retraçant des intérieurs vides, des bâtiments abandonnés... Depuis ces photos, figées dans leur silence, le travail de Cesare a évolué et il a ressenti le besoin d'exprimer sa sensibilité à fleur de peau à travers des images en mouvement...

 

L'exposition propose donc deux courts-métrages : Maria's Silence et The last step of an acrobat, ainsi qu'une sélection de huit images tirées de ces deux films expérimentaux (stills). Au fond, la vision du monde de Cesare et le pouvoir de ses nouvelles réalisations n'ont pas changé : il y a ce ressac permanent du souvenir, cet aller et retour des vagues (à l'âme), lorsqu'elles se brisent contre les obstacles de la vie, comme autant de miroirs fragmentant les reflets de la mémoire.

Des réflexions au sens propre comme au sens figuré.

Jorge Cañete

Films présentés:

 

"Maria's Silence", 38 minutes (en cliquant l'image, trailer disponible)

Ce film est basé sur du matériel documentaire mais n'est pas, à proprement parler, un film documentaire. Il ne s'agit pas non plus d'une œuvre de fiction. Le film nous est plutôt apparu comme un rêve, non pas un rêve nocturne, mais un rêve qui s'est déroulé jour après jour pendant le tournage. Un rêve partagé entre le photographe-réalisateur et l'actrice (ou, mieux, la femme représentée dans le long métrage), qui semblait néanmoins suivre une nécessité propre, énigmatique, à travers laquelle les prises de vue quotidiennes se rejoignaient presque magnétiquement, s'imbriquant dans un schéma de couches superposées qui ne cessent de se fondre et de se dissoudre les unes dans les autres, dans le flux constant, la cristallisation et le remodelage de l'intérieur psychique.

À un certain moment, ce rêve semble prendre fin, mais en fait il ne fait que s'ouvrir sur un autre rêve, ou hallucination, où le film lui-même commence brusquement à brûler, libérant des visions nouvelles et anciennes - des fragments de réalité - jusqu'à ce qu'il soit éteint par une tempête soudaine et se dissolve dans un crépuscule d'eau de mer. En ce sens, le film est aussi une méditation sur les éléments, l'eau et le feu, le vent, la terre et la peau, inspirée par un œil solaire qui est apparu presque tout seul dans l'un des premiers plans et a pris possession de la narration, dans le flux sans fin et la métamorphose insondable de toutes les choses et de tous les êtres.

Cesare Bedogné

"The last step of an acrobat", 29 minutes (en cliquant l'image, trailer disponible)

Ce film nous est apparu, alors qu'il se déroulait presque tout seul, jour après jour pendant le tournage, comme un conte de fées mythique sur les créatures de la mer morte et le désir de voler - la mort et la fuite, qui ne peuvent exister l'une sans l'autre.
Comme un rêve, il est basé sur une série de visions, de désirs et de pressentiments interconnectés qui ne peuvent être réduits à une unité de sens. Comme la vie elle-même, ou comme la mer qui change sans cesse et reste pourtant la même, incapable de trahir son mystère.


Plus un poème visuel qu'un film narratif, c'est l'histoire d'une équilibriste suspendue sur la corde molle de l'existence, son propre territoire : la frontière mince et toujours changeante qui unit tous les opposés, le ciel et la terre, la vie et la mort, la lumière et l'ombre, l'ailleurs et le nulle part.


Ce film traite également de la transformation et de la perte d'identité, du désir de devenir quelqu'un d'autre, ou même quelque chose d'autre - le cri d'une mouette, des os blanchis, la bouche brisée d'un dauphin, se dissolvant dans une profonde éternité - une méditation sur la mélancolie et sur la fragilité de l'existence, imprégnée du murmure secret de toutes les choses naufragées et perdues.


Le dernier pas est toujours le premier, mon début est ma fin.

Cesare Bedogné

Stills exposés:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Les photographies en vente ont un format A2 (42X59,4) dont la partie imprimée fait 30X50cm.

Impression encres Epson HDX (dernière génération), pigments haute résistance à la lumière, sur papier blanc pur, 100% coton Canson Platine Fibre RAG, 310 gsm, qualité musée. Les photographies sont imprimées par Marco Barsanti (marcobarsanti.it).

 

BIOGRAPHIE :

Cesare Bedogné est un photographe, cinéaste et écrivain italien. Il a obtenu un diplôme avec mention en mathématiques avec une thèse sur l'espace-temps de Minkovski, la théorie géométrique à la base de la théorie spéciale de la relativité d'Einstein.  Au cours de ses études, il a également approfondi son intérêt pour les arts visuels, avec une attention particulière pour le cinéma et la photographie, et au début des années 90, il a installé sa première chambre noire aux Pays-Bas, où il avait rejoint sa petite amie Monique. À cette époque, il se concentre sur sa série Innerscapes, axée sur "les moments étranges où l'intérieur et l'extérieur, l'œil et les choses regardées, semblent se dissoudre l'un dans l'autre".  Après la perte de Monique, due à une leucémie (1998), il retourne en Italie et commence à travailler à sa série Broken Images (une citation de T.S.Eliot) dans un sanatorium désert des Alpes italiennes.

À partir de la fin des années 90, ses tirages en noir et blanc ont été exposés, en solo et dans des expositions collectives, dans de nombreuses galeries d'art et musées du monde entier, tels que Ch'i Contemporary à New York, Dagmar Schmidla à Cologne, l'Institut culturel italien d'Athènes et le Fotomuseum Den Haag aux Pays-Bas.  En 2009, il s'est installé en Grèce, dans un village crétois reculé, où l'écriture est également devenue l'un de ses moyens d'expression privilégiés. Il a publié à ce jour un roman autobiographique et trois recueils de poèmes et de nouvelles.  Avec les images incluses dans le livre de photos Of Ashes and Wind, le roman, un souvenir de ses années néerlandaises jusqu'à leur fin tragique, a été à la base de son premier film, Story of an Empty Theatre, qu'il a coréalisé en 2015/2016 avec le cinéaste russe Alexandr Balagura.

Il s'est ensuite installé à l'extrémité ouest de Lesvos, où il a travaillé aux films expérimentaux "Maria's Silence" et "The Last Step of an Acrobat". Toutes ces œuvres ont remporté de nombreux prix internationaux et ont été projetées dans des festivals de cinéma prestigieux tels que le
Festival Internazionale del Cinema di Salerno, le Festival international du court métrage de Montecatini, le Festival du film "L'Europe Autour de l'Europe" à Paris, le Festival international du film de Harlem à New York, le Festival du film expérimental d'Istanbul, le Festival du film Illambra à Berlin, le Festival du film Cinemistica à Grenade, le Festival du film grec de Londres, le New Renaissance Film Festival d'Amsterdam (où il a remporté en 2018 le prix du meilleur film expérimental avec Story for an Empty Theatre), l'AMIIWorkFest (à Vilnius, organisé par Inkubatorius, où il a remporté le prix du meilleur long métrage en 2018 avec Maria's Silence et l'année suivante le prix du meilleur film avec The Last Step of an Acrobat), le Concrete Dream Film Festival de Los Angeles (un festival axé sur le cinéma d'avant-garde où il a remporté en 2018 le prix du meilleur film - médaille Philippe Mora - avec Maria's Silence).

Cesare Bedognè vit actuellement à Gênes, en Italie, où il a fondé, avec Aleksandr Balagura, Flight/Mostra Internazionale del Cinema di Genova, un festival consacré au cinéma en tant que forme d'art et aux langages innovants.


www.cesarebedogne.com
www.cesarebedogne.it

VisualCesareBedogne_2021.jpg
Capture d’écran 2021-10-26 à 16.29.06.jpg
Capture d’écran 2021-10-26 à 16.29.28.jpg
Cesare Bedogné