structure, ae f
by
Sofía Montes
Curator: Jorge Cañete
July 2022

Without man, the universe is just a structureless continuum.


Albert Jacquard (A little philosophy for the use of non-philosophers, p. 31, Ed. Québec-Livres)

prolongation

Sofía Montes is a multidisciplinary artist. Her vision of the world is expressed in touches, like haikus of our modern society, whether through photography (see her exhibition La vida es hermosa no entiendo el veneno, in December 2019 at La Galerie Philosophique) or also through abstract sculptures.

This artistic projection is presented in her new exhibition, entitled structura,ae f. A capsule collection composed of geometric, intuitive and radical constructions. These are presented in the new ephemeral space of the Galerie Philosophique, the Espace Voûté.

This series of sculptures is a tribute to Arte Povera, in the sense that the artworks of Sofía Montes consist of challenging the consumer society. In fact, the artist recovers pieces of wood, left behind, which in their original nature had another function and use. Their transformation or transmutation into a work of art is a miracle and it  fully participates in the reflection on the dialectic between nature and culture.

But the structures of the Spanish artist seeks above all to express a certain idea of balance, and it doesn't matter if it is not perfect! This is precisely where the power of her work lies: geometric, spontaneous and inventive scuptures, which hesitate between stability and vacillation.

The artworks of Sofía Montes contain the mystery of this duality and move us. Undoubtedly, because they are the metaphor of our fragile human condition, which, nevertheless, does not cease to seek a certain balance.

A quest that does not want to lead us astray, but to strengthen the relationship, even if only momentarily, with the world.

Sofia Montes lives and works in Madrid.

Specifications of works:
Variable formats, wood

Photo gallery of available works:

sctructura,ae f
de
Sofía Montes
Commissaire d'exposition: Jorge Cañete
Juillet - Août 2022

Sans l'homme, l'univers n'est qu'un continuum sans structure.


Albert Jacquard (Petite philosophie à l'usage des non-philosophes, p. 31, Éd. Québec-Livres)

prolongation

Sofía Montes est une artiste multidisciplinaire. Sa vision du monde s’exprime par touches, comme des haïkus de notre société moderne, que ce soit à travers la photographie (voir son exposition La vida es hermosa no entiendo el veneno, en décembre 2019 à La Galerie Philosophique) ou des sculptures abstraites.

 

Cette projection artistique est présentée dans sa nouvelle exposition, intitulée structura,ae f. Une collection capsule composée de constructions géométriques, intuitives et radicales. Ces dernières sont présentées dans le nouvel espace éphémère de La Galerie Philosophique : l’Espace Voûté.

 

On peut retrouver dans cette série de sculptures un hommage à l’Arte Povera, dans le sens où le travail de Sofía Montes consiste à défier la société de consommation. En effet, l’artiste récupère des morceaux de bois laissés-pour-compte, qui dans leur nature première avaient une autre fonction et utilité. Leur transformation (ou transmutation) en œuvres d’art tient du miracle et participe pleinement de la réflexion sur la dialectique entre la nature et la culture.

 

Mais le travail de l’artiste espagnole cherche avant tout à exprimer une certaine idée de l’équilibre, et peu importe si celui-ci n’est pas parfait ! C’est justement là que réside la puissance de son travail : des structures géométriques, spontanées et inventives, qui hésitent entre stabilité et vacillement.

 

Les œuvres de Sofía Montes contiennent le mystère de cette dualité et nous émeuvent, sans doute car elles sont la métaphore de notre nature fragile, qui n’a pourtant de cesse que de rechercher un certain équilibre.

 

Une quête susceptible, non d’égarer l’être humain, mais de renforcer sa relation, fût-elle momentanée, avec le monde.

 

Sofía Montes vit et travaille à Madrid.

Spécifications des œuvres:
Formats variables, bois

​Galerie photos des œuvres disponibles :