October - December 2021

"Ecarts"

by

FLORENCE GRUNDELER

From October 14 to December 10, 2021

 

Curator: Jorge Cañete

Rue Haute, 36

CH - 1422 Grandson (Vaud)

open by appointment only: +41787102534 - info@jorgecanete.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Time does not surprise the wise,
But of Time the wise man laughs,

Gérard de Nerval, Ode

 

Since the birth of thought, time has questioned: scientists, philosophers and artists have explored it, seeking to state it, to define it and to represent it. An often unattainable goal because its incarnation, its feeling is specific to each one. Don't we all live in time in our own way, by inventing our own temporality?

 

Florence Grundeler in her exhibition “Écarts”, some of whose works were created in residence at Grandson, proposes to tell “a story of time”, or more exactly to slow down time and create larger spaces, because it is often in the "in-between" that everything emerges. This is where we can show the invisible, that is to say what precisely slips into the gap.

 

“Écarts” is a pictorial journey, a journey through time, our own and the one we set aside and which stops on matter, on a fragment or more precisely on fragments. Indeed, the artist seeks to demonstrate that the subtle accumulated differences bring strength and consistency to matter and to being.

 

The fragments overlap, align or escape, like this text typed on a typewriter "a story of time" which never ends up filling strips of fabric. They thus give themselves the freedom to exist at each moment, differently, in a permanent movement and an infinite evolution.

 

Each fragment - embodied by paintings, installations, cabinet of curiosities - are so many pieces that have a fundamental role to play, like the stages of an interior journey, to bring us back to our intimate parts, our dreamlike parts ...

BIOGRAPHY :

there is a birth in may 1968

there is a childhood in the suburbs,

there is an absolute need for nature,

there is China and Chinese, there are lives elsewhere, Brazil, Argentina,

there are these "lives elsewhere" loaded with learning,

there is the commitment to art,

there is the choice to live in the scrubland,

there are canvases, canvases with ink, canvases with pigments, canvases crossed by stitched threads,

there are engravings, drypoint engravings, often, in praise of the risk!

there are inked, ashy, oil-painted and thread-crossed papers, too,

there are cobblestones, breeze blocks that have become cobblestones, symbols of a construction.

there is the expression of the vacillation of being.

Florence Grundeler is a visual artist born in 1968. Sinophone and inhabited by Chinese culture, she also nourished her learning during stays in Brazil and Argentina. In installations, engravings and especially canvases crossed by threads and ink, this follower of the material brings space and emptiness to life in order to better understand the flashes and the lines that emerge from them. Trained in the landscape rather than the artistic image, she claims the need for this minimum of virginity in the way of working. By meaningfully calling his workshop “Entre”, the artist confirms his desire to explore the margins, the intervals, letting a few possibilities arise, in the freedom, instinct or clumsiness that leads elsewhere.

Elora Weill-Engerer, art critic

 

site: www.florencegrundeler.com

Instagram account: @ florence.grundeler

Capture d’écran 2021-11-30 à 17.42.10.jpg

Galerie photos par Patrice Schreyer

Octobre - Décembre 2021

Ecarts

par

FLORENCE GRUNDELER

Du 14 octobre au 10 décembre 2021

Commissaire d'exposition: Jorge Cañete

Finissage le 9 décembre dès 18h00

Performance à 19h30 de Priscille Oehninger, Viola Altise et Florence Grundeler

masque & covid pass obligatoires

Rue Haute, 36

CH - 1422 Grandson (Vaud)

ouvert sur rendez-vous uniquement : +41787102534 - info@jorgecanete.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Le Temps ne surprend pas le sage,
Mais du Temps le sage se rit,

Gérard de Nerval, Ode

 

Écarts, dans le temps et l’espace

 

Depuis la naissance de la pensée, le temps interroge : scientifiques, philosophes et artistes l’explorent, cherchent à l’énoncer, à le définir et à le représenter. Un objectif souvent inatteignable car son incarnation et son ressenti sont propres à chacun. N’habitons-nous pas tous le temps à notre manière, en inventant notre propre temporalité ?

 

Florence Grundeler, dans son exposition Écarts, dont certaines œuvres ont été créées en résidence à Grandson, propose de raconter « une histoire de temps », ou plus exactement de ralentir le temps et de créer des espaces plus larges, car c’est souvent dans les « entre-deux » que tout surgit. C’est là que l’on peut donner à voir l’invisible, c’est-à-dire ce qui se glisse justement dans l’écart.

 

Écarts est donc un voyage imagé, un voyage dans le temps, le nôtre et celui que l’on écarte et qui s’arrête sur la matière, sur un fragment, ou plus précisément, sur des fragments. En effet, l’artiste cherche à démontrer que les subtiles différences accumulées apportent force et consistance à la matière et à l’être.

 

Les fragments se superposent, s’alignent ou s’échappent, comme ce texte tapé à la machine à écrire, « une histoire de temps » qui n’en finit pas de remplir des lés de tissu. Ils se donnent ainsi la liberté d’exister à chaque instant, différemment, dans une mouvance permanente et une évolution infinie.

 

Chacun de ces fragments – incarnés par des peintures, des installations, un cabinet de curiosités – sont autant de morceaux qui ont un rôle fondamental à jouer, comme les étapes d’un voyage intérieur, pour nous ramener vers nos parts d'intime, nos parts oniriques…

BIOGRAPHIE :

il y a une naissance en mai 1968

il y a une enfance en banlieue,

il y a un besoin absolu de nature,

il y a la Chine et le chinois,il y a des vies ailleurs, Brésil, Argentine,

il y a ces "vies ailleurs" chargées d'apprentissages,

il y a l'engagement pour l'art,

il y a le choix de vivre dans la garrigue,

il y a des toiles, des toiles avec de l'encre, des toiles avec des pigments, des toiles traversées par des fils piqués,

il y a des gravures, des gravures à la pointe sèche, souvent, pour l'éloge du risque !

il y a des papiers encrés, cendrés, peints à l'huile et traversés par le fil, aussi,

il y a des pavés, des parpaings devenus pavés, symboles d'une construction.

il y a l'expression du vacillement de l'être.

Florence Grundeler est une artiste plasticienne née en 1968. Sinophone et habitée par la culture chinoise, elle a également nourri son apprentissage lors de séjours au Brésil et en Argentine. Dans des installations, gravures et surtout des toiles traversées de fils et d’encre, cette adepte de la matière fait vivre l’espace et le vide pour mieux cerner les fulgurances et les lignes qui en émergent. Formée au paysage plutôt qu’à l’image artistique, elle revendique le besoin de ce minimum de virginité dans la façon de travailler. En appelant significativement son atelier « l’Entre », l’artiste confirme son désir de fouiller les marges, les intervalles, laissant advenir quelques possibles, dans la liberté, l’instinct ou les maladresses qui emmènent autre part.

Elora Weill-Engerer, critique d’art

 

site : www.florencegrundeler.com

compte Instagram : @florence.grundeler

Capture d’écran 2021-11-30 à 17.42.10.jpg

Galerie photos par Patrice Schreyer