June - July 2022

PEAUème

by

BEÑAT OLABERRIA

From June 10 to July 24, 2022

Private view June 9th, starting at 18h00, with tattoo session

Curator: Jorge Cañete

Rue Haute, 36

CH - 1422 Grandson (Vaud)

open by appointment only: +41787102534 - info@jorgecanete.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A skin-deep exhibition

The PEAUème exhibition is a poetic tribute to Othon III, knight and poet of Grandson who died in a duel in the year 1397 (we are celebrating the 625th anniversary of his death this year).

 

The artist Beñat OLABERRIA was therefore freely inspired by this tension between writing and blood, favoring black and red in his pictorial expression. He proposes to reinterpret the iconography of the Middle Ages with its particular codes: the great standards, the reliquaries and the letter-poems. Moreover, for this exhibition, he chooses for the first time to use leather parchments, supports used at that time. The title of the exhibition also refers to it, precisely playing with the words: Poème – PEAUème (SKIN).

                                                                               

The skin resonates with another form of expression: the tattoo. Nine original drawings by the artist will be offered to become tattooed replicas. Marie from MINK TATTOO will create the “skin” version during the opening at the gallery on June 9 or a few days later, if people prefer. The benefits of these nine artworks, in their tattooed version, will be donated in full to the OSE Thérapies association.

Statement

​"Engaged in reconnecting with my past, I am using a language that rescues previously abandoned organic and gestural black mark-making. Nervous pencil lines, thick acrylic paint, dirt and charcoal enable me to offer traces of intimate moments of time and space whilst still refuse representation by escaping visual description and verbal fixation.

With pieces that are aesthetically self-sufficient and true to my logic and visual language, my work presents incompleteness. These are pieces open to multiple interpretations where only each viewer can fill the gap between themselves and my work."

B. Olaberria

Biography

Originally from the Basque Country in northern Spain, Beñat OLABERRIA is a London-based artist who graduated from the City & Guilds of London Art School with an MA in Fine Art. With his non-impressionist, non-narrative and non-reductive approach, Beñat explores the unknown territories of his mind. As in an unpremeditated walk, he is interested in the construction of abstract works that react to his first intuitions or reactions. Beñat OLABERRIA has participated in numerous group exhibitions across the UK and some of her works can already be found in private collections across Europe, as well as in the United States. He is currently focusing on his solo exhibitions in London, Madrid, Munich and Switzerland.

www.benatolaberria.com

 

 

USEFUL INFORMATION :

PEAUème exhibition, by Beñat OLABERRIA, from June 10 to July 24, 2022.

 

Opening Thursday, June 9, 2022 from 6 p.m.

Tattoo session on registration.

 

 

By appointment tel. : 078 710 25 34, or by e-mail: info@jorgecanete.com

Capture d’écran 2022-04-26 à 15.56.11.jpg

Galerie photos

Juin - Juillet 2022

PEAUème

par

BEÑAT OLABERRIA

Du 10 juin au 24 juillet 2022

Vernissage le 9 juin dès 18h00 avec séance de tatouage

Commissaire d'exposition: Jorge Cañete

Rue Haute, 36

CH - 1422 Grandson (Vaud)

ouvert sur rendez-vous uniquement : +41787102534 - info@jorgecanete.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Une exposition à fleur de peau

 

L’exposition PEAUème se veut un hommage poétique à Othon III, chevalier et poète de Grandson qui mourut en duel en l’an 1397 (on fête d’ailleurs cette année le 625e anniversaire de sa mort).

 

L’artiste Beñat OLABERRIA s’est donc librement inspiré de cette tension entre l’écriture et le sang, privilégiant le noir et le rouge dans son expression picturale. Il propose de réinterpréter l’iconographie du Moyen Âge avec ses codes particuliers : les grands étendards, les reliquaires et les lettres-poèmes. De plus, pour cette exposition, il a choisi pour la première fois d’utiliser des parchemins en peau, supports utilisés à cette époque. Le titre de l’exposition y fait d’ailleurs référence, jouant justement avec les mots : Poème – PEAUème.

                                                                                                                                                             

La peau entre en résonnance avec une autre forme d’expression : le tatouage. Neuf dessins originaux de l’artiste seront proposés pour devenir des répliques tatouées. Marie de MINK TATTOO réalisera la version « peau » lors du vernissage à la galerie le 9 juin ou quelques jours après, si les personnes le préfèrent. Le prix d’acquisition de ces neuf œuvres, dans leur version tatouée, sera reversé dans son intégralité à l’association OSE Thérapies.

Une signature forte

Beñat OLABERRIA, avec sa signature identifiable au premier regard, propose un univers abstrait où la force et la fulgurance se répondent. Des traits de crayon nerveux, de la peinture acrylique épaisse, de la saleté et du fusain lui permettent de représenter les espaces linéaires et interstitiels de son esprit, des traces de moments intimes qui refusent une quelconque signification et veulent échapper à une description visuelle et verbale.


Son approche pourrait être décrite comme le processus intrinsèque de création dans le but de réaliser un geste artistique, plutôt que le résultat en lui-même. Il opère davantage à un niveau émotionnel qu’à travers une signification et/ou un contenu figuratif.

Un parcours international

Originaire du Pays basque, dans le nord de l’Espagne, Beñat OLABERRIA est un artiste basé à Londres, diplômé de la City & Guilds of London Art School avec une maîtrise dans le domaine des beaux-arts. Avec son approche non impressionniste, non narrative et non réductrice, Beñat explore les territoires inconnus de son esprit. Comme dans une promenade non préméditée, il s’intéresse à la construction d’œuvres abstraites qui réagissent à ses premières intuitions ou réactions. Beñat Olaberria a participé à de nombreuses expositions collectives à travers le Royaume-Uni et certaines de ses œuvres se trouvent d’ores et déjà dans des collections privées à travers toute l’Europe, ainsi qu’aux États-Unis. Il se concentre actuellement sur ses expositions personnelles à Londres, Madrid, Münich et en Suisse.

www.benatolaberria.com

 

 

INFORMATIONS PRATIQUES :

Exposition PEAUème, de Beñat OLABERRIA, du 10 juin au 24 juillet 2022.

 

Vernissage le jeudi 9 juin 2022 dès 18 heures.

Séance de tatouage sur inscription.

 

 

Réservation obligatoire par tél. : 078 710 25 34, ou par e-mail : info@jorgecanete.com

OEUVRES A TATOUER:

9 flashs disponibles (chaque flash n’est réalisé qu’une seule fois).

Prix 400.- CHF, entièrement versé à l'association OSE Thérapies

Pour réservation du flash et prise de rendez-vous, mille mercis d'envoyer un email avec le N° du tattoo désiré à info@jorgecanete.com

Capture d’écran 2022-04-26 à 15.56.11.jpg

Galerie photos