luminous geography
by
Mercedes Lara
Curator: Jorge Cañete
In collaboration and with the support of La Commune de Grandson, Le château de Grandson and ProGrandson.


September 2022

We no longer perceive the wind as its aimless course, the sky as its blinding light, the space as its impassible excess. Undoubtedly, if this is so, it is because these places where our lives go are nothing other than the exact reflections of our souls.
 
Henri Gougaud  (Paramour, p. 131, Seuil)

Visuel MercedesLara
Carte

MERCEDES LARA was struck by the emblem of Grandson where the Sun and the Moon appear, archetypes that mark the natural rhythm of the Earth, of night and day. These symbols echo in a moving way her personal and artistic research, as well as her fascination for the permanent and incessant cyclical changes of time...

In this quest, light is fundamental, because it is the common element of the Moon and the Sun. Depending on the position of the Earth and the Moon in relation to the Sun, our terrestrial perspective creates the changing shape of the latter.

As in the myth of Plato's cave, according to the shadows reflected on the wall, we perceive one thing or another and in this fashion, we define our own "geography".

The exhibition organized in Grandson is called “Luminous Geography” and wants to play with the suggestion of appearance and dissimulation according to our point of view, like a metaphor of light and darkness. A fragile and flickering light, a light that also alludes to the inner image that each individual projects...

Her exhibition will in fact be a journey, an itinerary through a luminous geography that will make you discover different sites in Grandson: in addition to the works exhibited at the Philosophical Gallery, her poetic creations will find their place in the gardens of the Castle, in the Cloister , as well as the interior of the Church of Grandson.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MERCEDES LARA's work speaks of time, its rhythms and its continuous changes. She interprets light and color by creating moving works.

Her creations continue to translate the passage of time and capture its mutation in space, while giving free rein to our own perception. Time and nature are subject to rhythms that also depend on us: depending on where we are, the moment concerned or the way we look at things, our perception changes.

It is therefore our own truth, our personal geography which, just like in mirrors, is reflected in the works of MERCEDES LARA.

The materials composing her works are mainly yarn for their fragility, felt for its authenticity and character, porcelain for its delicacy, gold leaf whose brilliance reminds us of the sun, and cement, to which time gives his nobility. All these materials are non-polluting and durable.

 

BIOGRAPHY

After studying fine arts at the Complutense University of Madrid, MERCEDES LARA's artistic career began with the exhibition En Movimiento, which took place in the Contemporary Space of the Archives of Toledo.

Her works have been exhibited at the Tomás y Valiente Art Center in Fuenlabrada, the Daimiel Regional Museum in Ciudad Real, as well as in the historic Citadel of Pamplona, among others.

She has also participated in international collective exhibitions, traveling to Japan on numerous occasions, as well as to London.

Her work has also been featured in international fairs such as Art Miami and Art New York.

Herwork is included in the collection of the Principado de Asturias Museum of Fine Arts, in that of the Spanish Academy in Rome, and at the Abrons Arts Center in New York.

In 2021, she participated in the “Magic & Gold” exhibition at the Arken Museum in Denmark, together with Sylvie Fleury, Ugo Rondinone, Bill Viola, Ai Weiwei to name but a few.

géographie lumineuse
de
Mercedes Lara
Commissaire d'exposition: Jorge Cañete
En collaboration et avec l'appui de La Commune de Grandson, Le Château de Grandson et ProGrandson.


Septembre 2022

Nous ne percevons plus du vent que sa course sans but, du ciel que sa lumière aveugle, de l'espace que son impassible démesure. Sans doute, s'il en est ainsi, c'est que ces lieux où vont nos vies ne sont rien d'autre que les reflets exacts de nos âmes.
 
Henri Gougaud  (Paramour, p. 131, Seuil)

Visuel MercedesLara
Carte

MERCEDES LARA a été frappée par les armoiries de Grandson où apparaissent le Soleil et la Lune, archétypes qui marquent le rythme naturel de la Terre, la nuit et le jour. Ces symboles font écho de manière troublante à sa recherche personnelle et artistique, ainsi qu’à sa fascination pour les changements cycliques permanents et incessants du temps…

La lumière est fondamentale, car elle est l'élément commun à la Lune et au Soleil. En fonction de la position de la Terre et de la Lune par rapport au Soleil, notre perspective terrestre crée la forme changeante de cette dernière.

Comme dans le mythe de la caverne de Platon, en fonction des ombres qui se reflètent sur le mur, nous percevons une chose ou une autre, nous définissons notre propre « géographie ».

L’exposition organisée à Grandson se nomme justement « Géographie lumineuse » et veut jouer avec la suggestion de l'apparence et de la dissimulation en fonction de notre point de vue, comme une métaphore de la lumière et de l'obscurité. Une lumière fragile et vacillante, une lumière qui fait également allusion à l'image intérieure que projette chaque individu…

Son exposition sera en faite un parcours, un itinéraire à travers une géographie lumineuse qui vous fera découvrir différentes sites de Grandson: en plus des oeuvres exposées à la Galerie Philosophique, ses créations poétiques trouveront leur place dans les jardins du Château, le couvert du Cloître, ainsi que l'intérieur du Temple de Grandson.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Le travail de MERCEDES LARA parle du temps, des ses rythmes et de ses changements continus. Elle interprète la lumière et la couleur en créant des œuvres en mouvement.

Ses créations ne cessent de traduire le passage du temps et de capturer sa mutation dans l'espace, tout en laissant libre cours à notre propre perception. Le temps et la nature sont soumis à des rythmes qui dépendent aussi de nous : selon l’endroit où nous nous trouvons, le moment concerné ou encore la façon dont nous regardons les choses, notre perception se modifie.

C’est donc notre propre vérité, notre géographie personnelle qui, tout comme dans des miroirs, se reflètent dans les œuvres de MERCEDES LARA.

Les matériaux composant ses œuvres sont principalement les fils pour leur fragilité, le feutre pour son authenticité et son caractère, la porcelaine pour sa délicatesse, la feuille d’or dont l’éclat nous rappelle le soleil, et le ciment, auquel le temps donne sa noblesse. Tous ces matériaux sont non polluants et durables.

 

BIOGRAPHIE

Après l’étude des beaux-arts à l‘université Complutense de Madrid, la carrière artistique de MERCEDES LARA a débuté avec l'exposition En Movimiento, qui a eu lieu dans l'Espace contemporain des Archives de Tolède.

Ses œuvres ont été exposées au Centre d'art Tomás y Valiente de Fuenlabrada, au Musée régional Daimiel de Ciudad Real, ainsi que dans la citadelle historique de Pampelune, entre autres.

Elle a aussi participé à des expositions collectives internationales, se rendant au Japon à de nombreuses reprises, ainsi qu'à Londres.

Son travail a également été présenté dans des foires internationales telles qu’Art Miami et Art New York.

Son travail figure notamment dans la collection du Musée des beaux-arts Principado de Asturias, dans celle de l'Académie d'Espagne à Rome, ou encore à l’Abrons Arts Center à New York.

Elle a participé en 2021 à l’exposition «Magic & Gold» au Arken Museum au Danemark, conjointement à Sylvie Fleury, Ugo Rondinone, Bill Viola, Ai Weiwei pour ne citer qu’eux.